Short Fiction Month #11- An old key

Hmph. So much for a daily story. In my defence, I did make the world’s most complex dessert and I’ve been editing daily until my eyeballs fall out. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll go meta and have a 50-word story about editing. Or not.

The door hadn’t been opened in decades, but he had to know the truth. Hands trembling, he slid the keycard into the moss-covered door. The red light blinked its futile warning. The door opened, and a dark shape emerged.

The scream could be heard in the Cabinet Office.

Leave a Reply

