NaNoWriMo: A second win!

I don’t know why I do it to myself, really. The sleepless nights, the excessive coffee, the- oh, well I guess it’s no different to any other month. But I’m pleased to say I broke 50k and finished this year’s NaNoWriMo with 5 whole days to spare. Here’s the proof. And this leaves me with time to do some Book Week events, entertain some American friends this weekend by showing them round Craigmillar Castle and stand crying all over the masonry because it’s just so perfect and it’s really a shame what happens there in the book and all that. And finish my damn edits.

I’d like to thank the Edinburgh NaNoBeans for their regular ‘write-ins’ at Starbucks and the Traverse Theatre, whose nachos know no bounds. Thanks to them, I’ve discovered a writer who lives in my area, people with excellent taste in musicals and someone who’s inside my brain:

Her: One brother’s having a sensible discussion, and the other crashes through the door cut and bruised, throws a man on the table and says ‘Look what I found!’

Me: Your brothers should never meet my brothers.

I may well open some top-quality Babycham later, and before my weekly dose of vintage music TV there might be another edition of Retro Corner. You lucky sods, you.

Leave a Reply

