Story Shop: oh god, it’s actually happening

Yep, it’s finally here. Tomorrow, I’ll be on stage at the Edinburgh International Book Festival, reading my short story Loch na Bèiste for your delectation. There will be Highlands scenery. There will be foolish old men. There will be my favourite murderous beasties.

 

*squishes kelpies tightly*

*squishes kelpies tightly*

 

I’ve been quite zen about things up till now – everyone else in Team Story Shop has raised the bar performance-wise – but now I’m starting to freak out. I mean, I’m only at a renowned literary festival. Little old me, with a story from a wee corner of Wester Ross, conceived after a week of heavy drinking and the occasional intrusions from resident furry asshole YA Cat. I hope everyone likes what I came up with. If you do, please come tell me, or fill out a comment card on the table if you’re shy. If you hated it, then I’ll set my man-eating water-horses on you. Anyway, if you’d like to come, it’s tomorrow (26th August), Charlotte Square, in the Spiegeltent at 3pm sharp. (And if you can’t make it, there will be a live Periscope stream on the City of Literature Story Shop site, and a YouTube video later that day.) Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go and wibble quietly in a corner before the Author’s Yurt embraces me with its multitude of free food and wine. Mostly, the wine.

 

YES WE ARE, MY FRIEND. IT WILL BE ACE.

YES WE ARE, MY FRIEND. IT WILL BE ACE.

 

 

One thought on “Story Shop: oh god, it’s actually happening

  1. Pingback: So, I heard you like short stories… | Writings from Otherworld

Leave a Reply

