Blogmas, Day 1/2: NaNoWriMo postmortem

Well, what do you know, it’s December already. To celebrate, I’m currently being too busy to start Blogmas on time! Hurray! To make up for it, a double-bill today, on just how NaNoWriMo went down, and courtesy of this post the answer to ‘what show from your childhood would you love to bring back?’ Grab a mulled wine and read on…

So, thirty days of wild-ish writing, and what do I have to show for it? A big, chaotic pile of different things, it turns out.

I was planning to be a NaNo rebel this year, and I’ve done exactly that. In fact, I’ve not just written one thing – I decided that any remotely creative writing I did would go into one Scrivener file and go towards the wordcount. And so that’s why NaNoWriMo 2016 consists of:

  • The first 20,000 words of a contemporary YA thriller which came to an abrupt creative block
  • A large chunk of edits from a previous novel
  • A non-fiction piece for the Dangerous Women project, which has since been published – go see!
  • The beginnings of a creepy short story about a children’s home and a haunted mirror
  • Blog posts
  • Copy from my day job, mostly consisting of creative ways to leverage synergy
  • The start of a new novel, set in an alternative Barcelona

 

But you can half-do MANY THINGS.

But you can half-do MANY THINGS.

 

The most surprising part, though, was the idea that the Muse dropped into my brain on the last night of my holiday. Apart from inflicting my flimsy Spanish on the residents, I’d spent most of the trip bingeing on Gaudi, and a whole afternoon at the Sagrada Familia, and there was something about the place that was like a sucker punch to the heart. I mean, just look at it. How can you not be inspired by this amazing architecture, the kaleidoscope of colours, the immense sense of space?

 

SO BEAUTIFUL

SO BEAUTIFUL

 

Despite taking a second freelance job on when I got back, something just clicked. The last day of NaNoWriMo, I managed 4000 words before I had to put my work hat on again. And I worked up until midnight, and this was the somewhat surprising result. We’ll never see the likes of that daily wordcount total again, I tell thee.

 

I can't feel my hands.

I can’t feel my hands.

 

Got to be something decent in those 10k words, right? So, we’ll see how it goes. I have three short stories to get on with, plus more edits, but this new story has taken hold of me and won’t let go. WATCH THIS SPACE.

As for a childhood TV show I’d like to bring back? Tricky one, but I’d probably have to go with Knightmare. Yes, it was sort of brought back on YouTube, but the less said about that, the better. I loved everything about it as a young ‘un: the fantasy theme, the terrifying skin-peeling-off-skull health meter, the crap 80s CGI, Treguard’s crazy eyes. But mainly, I liked watching kids ruining their quest – kids who I bet you anything now work in the City and make the economy sidestep to the left instead.

Poor Simon.

Next on Blogmas… who knows? I’ll probably stick a pin in the list from the blog above, but if you have any burning questions, let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

