Blogmas, Day 3: Writing Wishes

It’s officially Christmas in our house now, not just because the tree’s here and we’ve bought the supermarket’s entire supply of mulled wine – we’ve had the first play of Fairytale of New York and that other, er, “classic”, Stay Another Day. The 90s has a lot to answer for.

Today’s Blogmas question is ‘If a genie could grant you 3 writing wishes, what would they be?’

The first wish would be for characters that actually do what they’re told. The only time I planned a NaNoWriMo novel, it went horribly wrong. So yes, nice, polite, well-mannered characters that get herded where I want them, please.

 

I know - I'll get this instead :(

I know – I’ll get this instead 😦

 

The second wish would be that the writing Muse had a proper schedule. It’s always at 2am after a long day down the freelance coalface, or chilling on holiday without a notepad to hand, isn’t it? Not that I’m complaining, sitting on 20,000 words or so of fantasy set in Barcelona, with a mouthy, slightly precocious, gender-ambiguous main character haring around after the Supreme Comte, firing off superpowers like they haven’t got a plan. Christ, Muse, make it easy for me, will you?

 

IT'S ALL KICKING OFF IN ALTERNATE BARCELONA

IT’S ALL KICKING OFF IN ALTERNATE BARCELONA

 

And the third wish? Other than more hours in the day, I’d have to say a nice publisher/agent who will go ‘holy crap this is the best thing I’ve ever clapped eyes on, shut up and take my book deal’, but we can’t expect Christmas miracles, eh? 😉

Tomorrow’s Blogmas will be a bit delayed like this one, as I’m at the SCBWI South-East Scotland Christmas do. Expect at least one fresh idea to come out of nattering to my fellow children’s writers. I DIDN’T NEED FREE TIME ANYWAY.

Leave a Reply

